What are your plans?

As 2016 gets under way it is usual to think about the year ahead and set goals both for your personal and business life and perhaps plan holidays or other adventures. I’ve done that for years and I’ve always loved the quietness of January as it gave me time to really think about the future & the year ahead.

images-32

I’ve been asked a few times over the past week “Do you have any plans for the year?” That is probably the hardest question anyone could ask me at the moment.  Not that it upsets me or that I’m incapable of planning, it’s just that I haven’t been able to make real plans now for a number of years. Well actually that’s not technically correct. I can make them, I just can’t guarantee I can achieve them and the likelihood is, I would have to bail out at the last moment if I did make them.

So as I pondered that question, “What are your plans for the year?” I realised that I don’t have actual plans for 2016 but I do have hurdles and challenges that I intend to get through with as much grace and determination as I can muster. If anything my plans are centred around my health management.

At the end of this month I see my Orthopaedic Surgeon and the likelihood is that I will be having more surgery soon after. The extent of that surgery is unknown but it will likely be in February. That’s my first hurdle. We also get my stair lift installed at the end of the month so that would definitely fall under “planning” 😊

In February I will be starting a new biological medication for Rheumatoid Arthritis called Humira. It is a fortnightly injection and many people have had good success with managing their disease with this. That brings some hope of dealing with one of my health issues. I guess this new strategy could  fall under my 2016 health plan.

Outside of that I am living one day at a time, often one step at a time…literally. There is however something quite liberating about that. I don’t know what lies ahead, none of us do. So instead of looking ahead for the next goal to be achieved, or the next adventure to come along, I am enjoying each special moment in each day. Some of my moments are so full of pain that I long for those to pass but the moments when I can do a little bit more than the moment before it, I embrace and enjoy every little bit of it.

I am so glad it’s a new year. It will be full of surprises whether I plan them or not. It will be full of joys and disappointments too and the best I can do is to embrace each and every one of them. If I do that I am embracing life and all that it has to offer. After all, life is the biggest adventure of all!

 

 

4 thoughts on “What are your plans?

  1. My prayer and wish is for you to have a much healthier 2016 Sam. Hopefully the Humira works for you, and there are less surgeries. Take care 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

