Abdominal Adhesions

Hi Everyone,

Many of us who have had multiple abdominal surgeries can find that we later have issues with adhesions. I was reminded of this the other day when I was talking to my carer about my story. I also realised I haven’t said anything about adhesions on my blog in any detail but in 2010, at the same time as I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis, I was also battling intense abdominal pain. I had so many abdominal adhesions that my bowel was obstructed & in knots & my ovaries were obliterated.

The Surgeon(Gyno/Oncologist) doing an investigative laparoscopy, could not believe his eyes. He said he’d never seen so many adhesions. The density & complexity of them was apparently spectacular!! As a result my ovaries were diseased & full of cysts & they were removed & my abdomen was returned to some semblance of normality. The instant relief from pain & fever following that surgery was amazing. My Total Abdominal Hysterectomy in 2007 was the cause of the issue & really the start of revealing my underlying bowel issues. The adhesions were the nail in the coffin which 3 years later resulted in the bowel prolapse & the need for my permanent colostomy in 2013.

Many Surgeons won’t remove adhesions because with each abdominal surgery more will return so it’s like fighting a losing battle for the Surgeon & the patient.  My Gynaecologist felt in my case I had all the classic symptoms at the time of severe adhesions & not to operate would have led to peritonitis & that could have killed me. He was right, I was full of infection & disease.

Has anyone else experienced this? Feel free to share your story of your adhesions battle or any other condition that creates a “Medical Musing” discussion.

Take care
Sam xx

https://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/health/conditionsandtreatments/adhesions

4 thoughts on “Abdominal Adhesions

  1. Thanks Marla 💖
    One step & one day at a time is the only way to approach life with chronic illness. I know I am not alone in dealing with these complexities & I gain strength from reading of others courage too.
    Thanks for reaching out xx

    Like

  2. I agree with Maria and don’t know how you do it. You have had more than your fair share to deal with…….yet from what I see and read you do it with class and courage. You are inspiring. I am glad to read that you draw strength from reading about the courage of other people too. I guess there are SOME benefits to this information overloaded, technologically and social media driven society we live in. The ability to reach out and be reached out to. Gentle hugs x x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

