Musing while Waiting for the Morning Fog to lift!

I’m not talking about the weather, it is the most glorious day outside as I blog inside, sitting in my favourite chair. I really should make the extra effort to get off my armchair, grab my crutches, grab my ipad, grab my coffee and go outside……hmmm, can’t quite achieve that!

Every morning I always have a list of “I should do this, or I should do that” buzzing in my head. In my minds eye I run around the house with the energy of 2 or 3 people, achieving so much. Then, I get out of bed and try to stand up. Reality sets in and all those wonderful tasks that moments ago seemed so easy, suddenly are insurmountable.

I do however amaze myself everyday as to how much I do achieve. I might not be able to do everything I want to do in an hour but with careful planning and pacing it is possible to get through a realistic daily “to do” list. The list needs to be shorter than it once was but to have a sense of achievement at the end of the day is so important when living with a chronic disease.

The fog I’m talking about is the one that follows the morning medication. The pills are necessary to get my body moving at some point in the day and to dull my over active immune system just enough to prevent permanent disabling joint damage from Rheumatoid Arthritis and to manage the unrelenting pain from my rare bone disease. However, they render me almost useless for the first few hours of my morning. I feel like I need to constantly shake my head to get it working.

Are the pills worth it?

I ask that question over and over but I know that my Rheumatoid Arthritis symptoms are kept under control with them and without the pain killers for my non healing broken femur & widespread bone pain…well, I don’t know what I would do.

My husband is out for a while this morning, only for a couple of hours but I am limited in what I can achieve without him. He would normally carry my coffee outside while I make my way with my crutches. It is the simple things like this that carers do that go unnoticed. Carers are amazing. Caring husbands are a gift from above and I thank God for mine every day.

So I shall sit here for a little while longer with my musings & eventually the fog will lift enough for my body to move a little more freely & I will feel more connected to the day.  I love it when that happens 😊

 

If you’re looking for genuine support, care, understanding & friendship, you are so welcome to join my closed Facebook support forum, Medical Musings with Friends . It’s a safe place to connect with others living with chronic & complex diseases, who truly understand the daily challenges. A warm welcome awaits.

I’m also a Contributor at “The Mighty”

https://themighty.com/author/samantha-moss/

 

 

4 thoughts on “Musing while Waiting for the Morning Fog to lift!

  1. To achieve a wonderful blog post like this one (and all your posts) is a monumental achievement in itself Sam. Some able bodied people can’t even manage that. You have a talent for writing, for engaging with people and for connecting people. It is a special gift and although it must be so frustrating (let alone relentlessly painful) to have your body attacking you the way it does, you achieve something magical every day by just being you.
    x x Esther

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Esther. You write beautifully as well & I am so glad our love of writing & dare I say it..even our health battles, have resulted in a beautiful friendship that I truly treasure 💗💗

      Like

  2. Well, I was thinking of how to respond, when I read Esther’s comments and she took the words right out of my mouth! Ditto what she said. ❤ You are a remarkable lady, brain fog or not! Keep smiling, beautiful!

    Like

    1. Lol… Esther has a habit of saying the right thing at the right time.

      As do you I might add. Thanks Linda for your love, prayers & ongoing support. You are such a special blessing 💗💗

      Like

Leave a Reply

