Pain is not all the Same

I’m currently in an extreme pain cycle (that’s a civilized way of putting it)

It started all because I was trialing an electric scooter 3 days ago under the supervision of an Occupational Therapist. Something that will technically make my life easier but the irony is, the whole exercise has flared the pain of my broken legs beyond belief & it has caused my abdominal muscles to feel as if they have been torn to shreds.

During the trial the scooter tipped slightly on the street corner. I braced myself using my legs & left side of my body. It wasn’t a major incident under normal circumstances but for my body, with a chronic inflammatory disease & broken bones, it resulted in a reaction as if I had been thrown completely off it. At the time I laughed & shrugged off the incident but the next day I honestly felt as if I had been in a boxing ring & I did not come out a winner!

Pain is such a highly personal thing & while we can all relate to varying levels of high pain, we all have very individual reactions to it.

1fd382ad-7b8f-4870-916e-86ca7f200bbf_post.png

Some people with high level chronic pain withdraw altogether. Some cry, some laugh, some are silent, some sleep, some can’t sleep, some eat, some can’t eat.

Others, like me, tend to talk or write about it. Partly I talk about it because it names it. Writing takes the pain out of my body & puts it into words. It helps me acknowledge it & make changes to my day, week etc to manage it….or to at least think I’m managing it. I also write about my pain to encourage others to feel free to talk about their experiences. After all, “a problem shared is a problem halved” right?

As I muse today about how I’m going to try & move through the week ahead, one thing is certain….I do have pain, it can’t be easily removed but I am as determined as possible to remain joyful. That joy can be in the moment or it can be looking ahead to anticipated joy….a good dose of day dreaming never hurt anyone & it can help me take the focus off pain onto happier things.

Pain takes so much from us, no matter your level of pain, no matter your disease.

I know, believe me I know, it’s not as simple as putting a smile on your face & thinking happy thoughts. It’s definitely not easy. It is like walking through a battlefield, cowering & wondering where the enemy is & where the next attack will be coming from.

Like soldiers though we learn to fight another day. Chonic pain keeps us constantly wounded, all to varying degrees but we don’t want to be defeated. We find ways to reclaim our lives. We find ways to conquer our enemy.

Everyone’s battle is different but every battle story is so inspiring & encouraging. Muse upon your own story & look at what you have achieved despite your pain, with your pain, through your pain. You’ll be amazed to see just how strong you really are!

 

If you’re looking for genuine support, care, understanding & friendship, you are so welcome to join my closed Facebook support forum Medical Musings with Friends. It’s a safe place to connect with others living with chronic & complex diseases, who truly understand the daily challenges. A warm welcome awaits.

I’m also a Contributor at “The Mighty”  

The Mighty – Author: Samantha Moss

 

 

10 thoughts on “Pain is not all the Same

  1. Lots of love to you ❤️ You helped me more than you know through my illness and chronic pain & it was because you got it one hundred percent. Shannon xx 🌺

    Like

    1. Thank you Shannon. That is so beautiful. I was more than happy to be there for you through your illness and am always here for you in the good times too. Love you lots xx

      Like

  2. It’s amazing how one little movement (or in your case, not so little) can completely wreck the next several weeks. Hope you’ll heal up fast.
    If the scooter tipped on a curb, you may want to look into a four-wheel scooter instead — less opportunity for tipping. You may also want to consider a power wheelchair instead of a scooter. It doesn’t mean you have to use use it all the time, but they can be more versatile and also have a future proofing aspect to them (as well as being smaller and easier to store).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Lene, yes it doesn’t take much does it to throw the body into a pain cycle does it😕

    This was a 4 wheeler scooter & is the only one that is suitable for me as assessed by my OT & Physio. It is thankfully light weight & compact & can be easily taken apart by my husband & placed in the boot of the car. It is also allowed into stores because it is as small as a wheelchair so that works well for me as the scooter protects my legs better than a wheelchair would. I’ll just be taking it very slowly once I get it that’s for sure xx😊

    Like

    1. do stores not allow scooters where you are?? How is that not discriminatory? Anyway, glad that you got the appropriate scooter for your needs. Sometimes it’s just a matter of getting used to driving it to know what angle you should be approaching curbs and the like. I have a friend who got a similar kind of scooter and it’s made a huge difference for her and her family in terms of their ability to have adventures.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Lene,

        If a scooter is too large I’ve been told a store can refuse entry. It would be rare for that to happen but the supermarkets do have restrictions. I was told, for example, that if a scooter was too wide/large & would obstruct the passing of a trolley in an aisle then it would not be allowed.
        Also some smaller boutique style stores just logically wouldn’t have room for a larger scooter. xx

        Like

  4. “Chronic pain keeps us constantly wounded.” I will never forget that… the written word is so powerful, especially with your strength behind it! Reblogged on Stone in the Road.(My additional blog.) It is a collection of stories that I want others to read and (selfishly) for myself so I can re-read the posts I find that speak to me as this one has! Thanks, Sam. ~Kim

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

