Simply Special

Living with chronic & disabling disease requires a complete change of lifestyle, a complete change of thinking.

Gone are the days of waking up in the morning & jumping out of bed to have a quick breakfast, get showered & dressed, head to work or some fun planned day full of anticipated activities.

It’s not the end of the world though. Those days just need to be replaced with a different kind of lifestyle. A more simpler, easier & less planned approach.

A happy life with severe chronic disease can still be full of special days & activities but they need to be a different kind of special. They need to be “Simply Special”

images (10).jpg

Over the past four years my life physically has become more & more disabled but my joy, my purpose & my love of life has actually increased. I value everything. Every moment, every conversation & interaction is special. I enjoy food more. Really enjoy it. I used to eat for necessity, always flat out working or dashing here & there . I now savour every mouthful, every flavour & texture.

I enjoy watching TV in an entirely different way. I really listen to the words spoken, I follow the plot & I analyse the script writing & the scenery. I love documentaries about nature. I never used to watch them in my past life. I love travel shows that are not about advertising holidays but are about travel through countries with amazing culture & history through the eyes of adventurers. I soak it up.

I love learning. Something will spark my attention & I now have time to research topics of interest & really learn about them in depth.

It’s no secret that I love writing. I’ve always written in a journal but now I can indulge in blogging & writing articles whenever I feel inspired. As a result of my blog & online support forum I have connected with people from all around the world.

It’s all “Simply Special”

My life is full & my days speed by in a blink of an eye. I’m never bored & mostly I feel like I need an extra day in the week.

So gone are my days of physically running around but those days are well & truly replaced with “Simply Special” things that I can manage lying on my bed or sitting in my lounge room. They can be done at 2pm in the afternoon or 8pm at night. It doesn’t matter. They are not agenda or time driven.

If you have found yourself severely disabled by your chronic illness & are still trying to live a semblance of your “healthy days” life, stop.  Stop what you are doing & think about how you can find joy in “Simply Special” things. They might be activities that are very different to mine but they will be unique to you. They need to be special to you.

I hope you can find joy & purpose in a “Simply Special” life. It might take time but it can happen despite chronic disease. Don’t lose hope💗

Take care

Sam xx

 

6 thoughts on “Simply Special

Leave a Reply

